Of all the fast food debates, one that will always live on is determining which french fries are the best. Of course, we’ve got the classic McDonald’s fries that you can’t go wrong with, but you’ve also got Arby’s curly fries, Burger King’s fries, Popeyes cajun fries, and of course, the Chick-fil-A waffle fries. The list can go on and on. But for someone who has dietary restrictions — like being vegan or vegetarian — the french fry options are limited.
Vegans and vegetarians in the United States sadly cannot eat McDonald’s fries, as the ingredients call for milk and beef flavor, but what about Chick-fil-A waffle fries? Are they safe to eat or will those avoiding dairy and meat also have to strike them off their list of fast food menu items they can choose from?
According to Veggl, a site where vegans can check out what they can eat at various fast food chains or restaurants, Chick-fil-A waffle fries are in fact vegan! Hooray! The official Chick-fil-A website lists the nutritional facts and ingredients for their delicious waffle fries. Check out what’s in these popular fries below:
"Potatoes (vegetable oil [canola oil, soybean oil, palm oil], disodium dihydrogen pyrophosphate [to promote color retention], dextrose), canola oil (high oleic canola oil with Dimethylpolysiloxane added as an anti-foaming agent)."
How to eat vegan at Chick-fil-A
And apart from their waffle fries, the fast food chain offers other menu items that are free of dairy and products from animals. Other options include their Spicy Southwest Salad (without cheese or chicken), Market Salad (without cheese or chicken), and the Grilled Cool Wrap (without cheese or chicken). They also offer a fruit cup and hash browns that are both vegan.
When in doubt, be sure to ask upon ordering at Chick-fil-A to be certain what you’re about to eat is vegan-friendly. Check out this list from Vegan.com of the top fast food chains with the most vegan menu items.
Anyone else seriously craving waffle fries right now?