Are McDonald’s hash browns vegan?

There’s nothing quite like a McDonald’s breakfast. Whether you’re a pancakes person or prefer to chow down on an Egg McMuffin, the morning hours menu is delicious and hard to beat when it comes to fast food. However, if you’re someone who’s plant-based or avoiding animal products altogether, it might be difficult for you to enjoy most menu items at McDonald’s, and that sadly includes breakfast.

Although one could easily make a lovely vegan breakfast at home, including hash browns, the fast food giant does things a bit differently. Just as we revealed that McDonald’s french fries are not vegan, neither are McDonald’s hash browns, at least not in the United States. This is understandably very disappointing for vegans as the hash browns are a staple at the restaurant.

Vegan Clue reports that McDonald’s hash browns are made with dairy and beef flavoring, which is also the case for their french fries. That means they are not vegetarian, either. The site also points out that in the UK, the hash browns actually are vegan, but definitely not in the US.

If you head to the McDonald’s website, you can find the nutritional information and ingredients for their famous hash browns. Check out the ingredient and allergen details below.

Ingredients: Potatoes, Vegetable Oil (canola Oil, Soybean Oil, Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Natural Beef Flavor [wheat And Milk Derivatives]*), Salt, Corn Flour, Dehydrated Potato, Dextrose, Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate (maintain Color), Extractives Of Black Pepper. *natural Beef Flavor Contains Hydrolyzed Wheat And Hydrolyzed Milk As Starting Ingredients

Contains: Wheat, Milk.
Cooked In The Same Fryer That We Use For Donut Sticks Which Contain A Wheat And Milk Allergen.

Can you eat vegan at McDonald’s?

But don’t fret if you don’t eat meat, dairy, or animal products. There are some menu items at McDonald’s that are vegan, so yes, it is possible to eat at the fast food chain safely. And if breakfast is what you’re craving, the fruit and maple oatmeal is vegan, according to Women’s Health Magazine, as are their apple slices. And if you’re looking for something sweet, you might be happy to know that McDonald’s baked apple pie is also vegan!

The fast food chain does offer a few menu items for vegans, but unfortunately, you’ll need to make your pancakes and hash browns at home if you want a classic copy-cat McDonald’s breakfast.