Taco Bell Tuesday: 6 Taco Bell items you might not know are vegan

Need a meatless vegan option at Taco Bell? You might be surprised.
Taco Bell Nacho Fries With Vegan Sauce - credit: Taco Bell
Taco Bell Nacho Fries With Vegan Sauce - credit: Taco Bell /

When most people think about getting some vegan fast food, Taco Bell usually isn't the first place to come to mind.

But while doing some research, I found a few Taco Bell items that are vegan. This was a topic covered in an older Taco Bell blog post, which helpfully outlined a number of options you might not expect were vegan -- or the way to veganize your regular TB order.

The post is entitled "How to Eat Vegan at Taco Bell," and the fast food chain does a good job of showing some alternatives or giving options that other fast food restaurants simply don't have.

With that being said, before I break down some of the option, I'd like to include the warning from the bottom of the post: "*Taco Bell defines “vegan” as recipes that contain no animal ingredients. It’s important to note, however, that in some restaurants we use the same frying oil to prepare menu items that may or may not contain animal ingredients. Also, we cannot guarantee that cross-contact with meat products will not occur." I feel like that's always a possibility but that's a risk most of us are willing to take for Taco Bell.

Did you know these 6 Taco Bell items are vegan?

1. Nacho Fries

Let's begin with an item we're all familiar with at this point and that's Nacho Fries. These tasty seasoned fries from Taco Bell have become a mainstay. These are such a huge part of Taco Bell's LTO menu that we're just waiting for them to become permanent. However, the thing you might not realize is that these are vegan. With that being said, it's only the fries and not the cheese. TB did have a vegan nacho cheese at one time but that sadly disappeared from the menu.

2. Potato Bites

These two items might go hand and hand but that's okay as potato bites are also vegan. As these are considered an ingredient, they can be subbed into a few different items and be added to almost any menu item you want. Heck, you can even get an order of Cheesy Fiesta Potatoes with nothing on them (so, simply Fiesta Potatoes) if you want to enjoy these plain.

3. Bean Burrito (Minus the Cheese)

If you're looking for something a bit more oomph than potatoes, we've got you. Taco Bell does have a bean burrito on its menu and it comes with refried beans, onions, cheese, and red sauce. If you want to make it vegan, all you have to do is take off the cheese. It's a simple fix and you can even add something else in place of the cheese such as fiesta strips or rice.

4. Black Beans and Rice

There is one Taco Bell item that gets slept on and it's their black beans. I'm not vegan or vegetarian but I find myself subbing in beans for beef as it's just that good. If you are vegan and you want a more filling side, then I suggest the black beans and rice. You could even add these to some nachos if you want something filling and a little salty.

5. Cinnamon Twists

Taco Bell has a plethora of different options for breakfast, lunch, and dinner but dessert doesn't get as much love. Thankfully, 1 of the 2 options is vegan and that's the Cinnamon Twists. Frankly, I would have been shocked if I found out that Cinnamon Twists weren't vegan. If you've ever tried them, they almost taste like eating a cloud with some cinnamon dust on them. Either way, it's still a vegan dessert option.

6. Mountain Dew Baja Blast

Maybe this last item is cheating, but we had to. You simply can't go to Taco Bell without washing your meal down with a Mountain Dew Baja Blast. As with most fountain drinks, Baja Blast is vegan and as a Taco Bell staple, this is something everyone can agree on, no matter your food preferences.

It's also worth noting that most of Taco Bell's non-vegan options have a "Make it Fresco" option which replaces all mayo and dairy sauces with pico de gallo, instead. Either way, it's clear Taco Bell is making an effort to ensure vegans and non-vegans alike enjoy their food. Hopefully, we'll see more vegan items pop up on TB's menu in the future. Now bring back that Vegan Nacho Cheese!

KFC has a new gravy-filled chicken quesadilla -- but only in select locations. KFC has a new gravy-filled chicken quesadilla -- but only in select locations. dark. Next