Vegan Butterbeer: Why isn’t there an official version?


If you go to official Wizarding World theme parks, you won’t find a vegan Butterbeer. Here’s a look at the real reason why.

Harry Potter stars Evanna Lynch and Robbie Jarvis have a request for Warner Bros. and the official Harry Potter theme parks. They want vegan Butterbeer to be introduced. It seems like an understandable request, as not only would it protect animal rights but it also offers something to those who are dairy free for health reasons. However, it’s not something you’ll see anytime soon and not because the parks don’t want to offer it.

It turns out that under licensing agreements from Warner Bros., only whipped cream made from cow’s milk can be used. And the whipped cream can’t just be left off because of the licensing laws. It seems a little archaic and exclusive when you think of it. Why stipulate an ingredient that is harmful to some members of the public?

More from Foodie News

All Lynch, Jarvis, and other vegan customers want is to switch the cow’s milk for a dairy-free alternative. There are plenty to choose from, including soy milk, coconut milk, almond milk, cashew milk, and rice milk. Soy milk or rice milk could arguably be the best to keep nuts out of the equation to make it the vegan Butterbeer even more inclusive.

(Photo by Valerie Macon/Getty Images)

Watch your favorite shows on fuboTV: Watch over 67 live sports and entertainment channels with a 7-day FREE trial!

Lynch says that she and her friends will be the first in line for a vegan Butterbeer if Warner Bros. allows it.

If this is something you want, you can help with the campaign. The first is to sign the petition requesting the change.

The second step is to get ready for a Twitter storm on June 8. When you go to the parks, you can also leave comments about vegan Butterbeer.

Next: Why vegan is easier than you think

It’s time for Warner Bros. and the parks to realize there is a call for this inclusive alternative.